top of page

Pregnancy Q&A

*Originally posted March 29, 2015 on my old blog Fab . Fit . Me.


So, even though my pregnancy news is finally out there, I'm still getting a lot of surprised reactions by people I work with or haven't seen in awhile. I get a lot of "you're so tiny" and "you hid it well". Truth is, I haven't been "hiding" it. I just chose not to broadcast it to people who aren't close to me, to avoid all the unsolicited advice since this is my first pregnancy. And at work, I wear a lot of black and I didn't really start showing until almost about 20 weeks so it was easy to miss. But everyone's excited for me and I couldn't be happier at this point in my life. I am very grateful for all the wonderful support from family and friends and cannot wait to share the rest of this pregnancy with everyone.


With that said...here are some questions I've had to answer since making the "big announcement."


How did you find out you were pregnant? I took a home pregnancy test.


What kind of Pregnancy test did you take?

Honestly? A cheap one I picked up from the 99cent Store awhile back. We had already spent a lot on brand name ones (First Response and Clear Blue) on the times we thought we could be pregnant and they can get pretty pricey! And after the cashier from Target told me I'm wasting my money on the expensive brands, and that his girlfriend used the cheap ones from the 99cent Store for all her 5 pregnancies and all worked fine, I decided I'd try those ones instead in hopes I'll get lucky.


How many? Just one. It was the last one of the batch of like 2 or 3 that I had bought a couple of months prior.


What were your 1st symptoms? Fatigue, VERY sore boobs, and extreme sensitivity to smells. Oh! And the most obvious - I was a week late for my monthly visitor.


Who did you tell first? Baby's Daddy!!!


Who was with you when you found out? I was by myself in the bathroom. Only because I didn't want him to experience another disappointment if the results came back negative. We had just come back from the grocery store and I really had to pee (TMI, I know). So while he was putting the groceries away, I snuck away to the bathroom to do my business. Something told me to just do it. Especially after noticing that the smell of EVERY SINGLE AISLE we went down made me gag. I just thought it was weird. So I did it.


My 1st reaction? I stood there and waited for the lines to appear (or not appear). And when I saw the 2 lines, I was like "NO FREAKIN' WAY!" But I couldn't help but feel excited at the same time. Especially after having seen so many negative tests in the past, FINALLY seeing the positive was just awesome.


Was your baby planned? Heck yes!


How far were you when you found out? I took the test on Sunday November 9th... so about 5 1/2 weeks.


How did your parents/family react? They were thrilled! Like I said, we waited till the end of the 1st trimester to finally tell our families. He and I are the last ones in both of our families to have kids so everyone's been impatiently waiting for us to finally give them a niece/nephew/grandson/granddaughter.



How did you tell your friends? some friends were told in the same fashion as the video shown above... I just haven't had the chance to edit the video clips into a montage. Others, we just texted them the video and also posted it onto our social media accounts.



DETAILS ON BABY PEEDEN

Due Date: July 9, 2015


Do you know the sex? yup! (And I will announce it in a future post!)


Any names? Of course! We've had names picked out for years.


Were you trying long? Almost a year.


Any Ultrasounds? Yes! from my first prenatal appointment, from Part 1 of the NIPT screening, and then the extensive one at 20 weeks where we were able to find out baby's gender.


First Prenatal Appointment @ almost 11 weeks



Part 1 NIPT screening @ 12 weeks


Have you heard the heart beat? Ohhh yes! And I love hearing it every single time I go to the doctor.


Who do you think it will look like? This one's a hard one. Our Haole-pino baby will definitely be a mix. Daddy-to-be is a mixture of all kinds of stuff - German, Native American, Irish, Lithuanian, to name a few. And I'm Filipino. Maybe some Spanish but I don't know for sure. So we're thinkin' baby will be fair-complected (lighter than me, of course) with dark features: hair and eyes. This is just my guess.


Will the baby have siblings? Future siblings? Maybe 1. Or 2. We'll see. Right now, our furbaby Tipsy will be the only sibling.


Have you felt the baby move? yes! ALL the time! And it is the most amazing feeling EVER!!! We even got to see baby kick/punch the other night. Nothing crazy, like hands, elbows, or feet. But still so very cool.



MISCELLANEOUS

How do you feel? I feel GREAT!!!! Still very tired, but so worth it.


Do you have morning sickness? Nope. Was lucky enough not to have it.


Do you have any cravings? Not anything in particular. Sometimes I'll crave random sweets. Sometimes salty. Nothing crazy. The constant cravings I get, but won't give in to, is Deep Fried Chicken. Yeah... that's a lot of grease. Gonna try to hold out for as long as I can. Right this second though? I'm craving some watermelon.


Do you have any food aversions? I did in the beginning. I couldn't stand my usual healthy foods. I had to force myself to eat my salads.


Do you have any mood swings? Gotta love those pregnancy hormones!!! For the most part, I have been cool as a cucumber. Lovin' this whole entire experience and have been told I have that "pregnancy glow". BUT, occasionally I'll go from one extreme to the next. I'd start stupid arguments for no reason to crying over spilled milk in a matter of minutes. I noticed my road rage has gotten worse. But can you blame me? My commute to and from work is just plain HORRIBLE!!!!


How far along are you now? 25 weeks and 3 days - here are my weekly baby bump pics.




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page