top of page

Workout Wednesday - First Workout of 2020

I know it's not Wednesday... but I was hoping to start a series of Workout blog posts FOR Wednesday... I just couldn't get around to actually posting it till NOW. 😝 😝 😝


But I will definitely try my hardest to hash one of these posts out every so often on a Wednesday. Posts that highlight a workout (or workouts plural) I've done that week or something fitness related. And hopefully, it'll become a THING and I can keep it going for awhile. Wouldn't that be somethin'? 😉


Ok so some of you may remember that last year, my goal for 2019 was to focus more on ME and that thing called self-care. Something I have struggled with since becoming a mom - something so many of us struggle with. And one of the things that was a priority for me, was getting back in the gym. Just to give you a little bit of an update on that - I did manage to get my gym membership. But it also took me AWHILE to get my groove back. Because of Daniel's crazy work schedule (sometimes he works late and/or on weekends), it was difficult for me to maintain a consistent workout in the evenings (which I prefer). So I had to settle for 5am wake-up times to get into the gym at 5:30am or 6am depending on how many times I hit that snooze button. Not gonna lie, it was brutal at first. But after a couple of weeks, it became my new norm. There was a lot of "jumping off the wagon" as the year went on because finding that balance is still a struggle for this mama.


This year, I'd like to continue working on this goal. Because there is so much room for improvement, especially when it comes to being consistent. And I figure, blogging about it regularly and sharing the workouts I do will help me stay accountable and maybe even motivate and inspire others to do the same.


So let's get right down to business, shall we?


My first workout of the year didn't happen till Monday, January 6th. I like to do a leg workout at the start of my week (focus on glutei/hamstrings) and then again later on in the week (quads). And this is what I did...


Warm-up: run/walk on the treadmill for 10 minutes. I usually like to do a HIIT run/walk combo but this time, since it was my first day back since Thanksgiving, I just did a brisk walk.


Then it was onto the weights. Please note: I have included pictures of the equipment I used and a video (not my own because I haven't quite figured out how to film myself doing these workouts without feeling awkward in front of the other gym goers) to help demonstrate the move I'm doing.


1. Leg Press (4 sets x 12 reps) - I did a combo of wide (6 reps) and narrow (6 reps) on the 45-degree leg press machine.


Equipment Used:


Demonstration:


2. Squats (4 sets x 10 reps) - I usually use the squat rack but because it's been awhile, I decided to use the V-Squat Machine.


Equipment used:


Demonstration




3. Seated Calf-Raises (3 sets x 15)

Equipment Used:


Demonstration:



4. Hip Adductor (4 sets x 15 reps) - I usually scoot forward a little so my back is not against the seat. And depending on how much I want to challenge myself, I will do this with my butt completely off the seat in kinda like a squat position.


Equipment Used:

Demonstration:



5. Seated Leg Curl (4 sets x 15 reps)


Equipment Used:


Demonstration:



6. Glute Press Down using the assisted pull-up machine (4 sets x 10 reps)


Equipment Used:


Demonstration:



And then here's where I should highly advise a good stretching sesh afterwards but I totally skipped it and went home 😝. I know, that's not a good habit. Stretching helps prevent injuries and I should really be doing them especially since I am getting older, which makes me more likely to have some kind of injury. But I'm stubborn.


Also, since we're talking about what we SHOULD be doing, I need to tell y'all that I am not a certified personal trainer (although I did consider becoming one at some point) so if you decide you'd like to try the workouts I do but have never used the equipment before, please make sure to do your due diligence to learn how to safely use the equipment.


There ya have it! My first workout of the year! And let me tell ya, I am still SORE from it!


Your turn!!! Tell me some of your favorite workouts in the comments below! Also, I'm always open to suggestions regarding workout posts, so tell me what you'd like to see on my blog! More workouts? Maybe even some highlights on fitness apparel/fashion? Let me know!


 
1 comment

1 Comment


sewthisislife.blog
sewthisislife.blog
Feb 12, 2020

This was such a great post! I think doing this in the past also helped me to try harder to be consistent with my fitness goals so great idea! I as well have tried to make going to the gym a new priority (after all other priorities, lol) but girl 6am, you are hella strong! I have the same problem with my husband his schedule is all over the place so it does get tricky. I do a very similar workout routine when I do legs and glutes as well. I’m very excited to see more of these posts this way I’ll have new routine ideas to motivate me at the gym! Keep it up!!

Like
bottom of page