top of page

Is Father's Day Really This Weekend?

This year is seriously flying by and I feel like I just cannot keep up with life! I don't know if it's because I'm getting old. Or if it's because I'm a parent now. Or if I'm still feeling the aftershock of the newborn fogginess that came with having my 8 month old in September. Maybe it's all of the above, I dunno.


What I do know, is that Father's Day is literally right around the corner... like this weekend! And I have totally failed as a wife and mom in planning something special for Daniel (sorry, Bubs!). I know it's just a regular day and that we should always be celebrating each other as husband/wife and mom/dad every single day. But let's be real, parenthood ain't always full of unicorns and rainbows. And on those not so pretty days, you really don't feel like celebrating anything but maybe having a drink of wine or two (or the whole damn bottle). So it really is necessary to have designated holidays to celebrate us. As parents. And the fact that we have separate holidays? Even better!!! I can't be the only one that feels this way, right?


Ok so I've decided to change things up a little for this post. It's a new blog and I've got followers who don't know me that well. And part of getting to know me means getting to know the people in my life. Since Father's Day is on Sunday, I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to shine the spot light on the most important man in my life. FYI this post is NOT sponsored and ALL opinions expressed are mine and mine alone. Just had to put that out there. This is indeed a pure, genuine, bottom-of-my-heart review coming from yours truly. I make no apologies for being a wee bit cheesy up in here, so if cheesiness is not your cup of tea then well... too bad. But I do promise to keep this short and sweet.


So without further ado... Let me formerly introduce to you... *drum roll*… my hubby!




AKA Bubbies, AKA Instagram Husband, AKA Baby Daddy, AKA Daddy... AKA you get the idea.



But in the real adult world, he goes by the name Daniel. He is legit the only person in this world that can drive me crazy - crazy in love, crazy insane, crazy angry you name it!!! Which only makes sense why he is probably the only person who can tolerate my crazy. Right?


Some fun facts:

  1. He has an identical twin brother. Yes, I can tell the 2 apart and No they've never tried to switch places on me.

  2. He's a year younger than I am and our birthdays are 2 days apart. What can I say? I like 'em young. (Kidding!!!!)

  3. Once upon a time he wanted to be a professional football player and tried to make it happen until we were in our late 20s (he played semi-pro, arena football, and even played for the junior college he attended).

  4. He has a Bachelors and Masters in Public Policy.

  5. He hates seafood - which sucks because I loooooove it. Who doesn't love sushi?!


If you've read my About Me or my first blog post, you know that we met when I was in college. But what you don't know is the story of how we met. He didn't attend the same school as me, so it's kinda crazy how our paths crossed. When I came back from spending my summer break in Hawaii at the start of my junior year, I learned my roommate had started dating someone. And she wanted me to meet him and a couple of his best friends but didn't really tell me much about them. So there was no reason for me to believe she was trying to play matchmaker. When I finally did meet them, I thought we were all just gonna hang out. Nope. They came over to try and recruit me into their multi-level marketing business that my roomie had invested in over the summer. Anyway, long story short, I gave them my money because it sounded fun and it allowed us to get to know each other better and then 2 months later we became a couple and the rest, as they say, is history. Pretty romantic, huh? Not exactly the "love at first sight" kinda story people wanna hear but it's our story and one of my favorites.


Now here we are, almost 17 years later still driving each other bat shit crazy but I could not do this whole parenthood thing without him. He has been my rock through it all - the pregnancies, the labor & delivery, and going from 1 kid to 2... I am beyond blessed to have him as my partner in crime for the rest of our lives. And did I mention how great he is with kids?! He is super patient and kind and kids just looove him. I'm not even exaggerating. This is one of the main reasons why I fell in love with him in the first place. I love watching him interact with our daughters. And they absolutely adore him. It just gives me all the feels, you know?


Daddy with Ella Juliet



Daddy with Everly Rose



Anyway, I promised short & sweet so I'm just gonna end this right here. He's an awesome father and that patience I mentioned he has will come in handy for sure, he's in a house full of girls! Bless his sweet heart.


Great. I guess this means I need to take my butt to the mall and get him something good now, huh?


Any suggestions?


0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page