top of page

27 Weeks Bump Update

*Originally posted April 12, 2015 on Fab . Fit . Me*


It is THE last week of my 2nd trimester. OMG where has the time gone! I swear it feels like we have still a LONG way to go... Anyway, 27 weeks. Yikes!




What Is Up With Baby P This Week?

  • Baby P is the size of a cauliflower. She measures about 14.5-15 inches long and weighs a little over 2 lbs.

  • She is a thinner, redder, and more wrinkled version of what she will look like at birth but will be gaining fat in the coming weeks to fill out her appearance.

  • Her immune system is continuing to mature as her lungs are still practicing breathing amniotic fluid

  • She is sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing those little eyes, and perhaps even sucking on his or her fingers.

  • Her brain is also very active now

  • She is able to recognize my voice now!!! And I hope she loves to hear me sing at the top of my lungs (off-key) on the long drive home from work every day!


What's Been Happening With ME This Week?


Went in to have my blood drawn on Friday. I went in to work late because I had to wait for the labs to open and they didn't open till 8am. The doc ordered blood tests for a complete blood count and the much dreaded 1 hr glucose test. The glucose test tests for gestational diabetes. Whether or not your body is able to digest it well.



So this awesome drink has to be consumed within a 10-minute window. Then an hour after you've completely consumed the yucky stuff, your blood is drawn and then tested. My results posted online last night and I don't have gestational diabetes. Yay! One less thing to worry about.


Weight Gained: Still don't know. Will know on Wednesday though!


Workouts: We took a long walk around the entire community only one time this week. Yeah, I have been slacking BIG on my workouts at home. But in my defense, my job is VERY physical and I am almost NEVER sitting down. Only when I'm on my breaks. Or in a meeting or on a conference call. The rest of the time, I'm running around my store working on project after project after project.


Symptoms: A little back pain and some minor cramping in my lower abdomen from running around and being on my feet all day at work. So I've had to take little breaks here and there to rest and remind myself that I am not SuperWoman. And sitting for long periods of time, like for example my drive home from work, is just so dang uncomfortable and my back just kills me by the time I get home from work.


Food Aversions: None this week.


Food Cravings: Starbucks' cinnamon swirl coffee cake. I just couldn't help myself.


Sleep: Still getting up to use the restroom 2-3 times during the night. And then not being able to fall asleep right away. Leaves me super tired the rest of my day. Story of my life.


Any Baby/Pregnancy-Related Purchases? Almost bought more baby stuff. One of the merchandisers at work told me that there were a bunch of markdowns in the newborn/infant section of the Kids Department. I purposely avoided those clearance racks on my daily floor checks. But I did treat myself to a couple of new maxi dresses and a few bottoms to accommodate and show off the growing belly. And the best part of it is, all of these new additions to my wardrobe can and will be used post pregnancy.


Stretch Marks: Nada! But the belly has been starting to itch in certain areas. And I am doing my best not to scratch!


Miss Anything?: Yes. I miss having energy. As previously mentioned, my job is physical. And to do what I do with little to no energy is just plain difficult.


Belly Button In or Out? Never thought this could happen because my belly button pre-pregnancy is a deep innie...but I think I am borderline outtie! Like it's almost there but not quite. Maybe in another week? IDK. We'll see.


Wedding Rings On or Off? Still on! I'm happy about that.


Happy or Moody Most Of The Time? Happy. Baby bump is continuing to get attention and I'm totally lovin' it.


Any Movements? She moves a lot. Especially after I eat. And during rush hour traffic. Yeah I don't think she enjoys my road rage much.


Looking Forward To: My doc appointment this week. Not sure if I'll be getting to see baby but I know I will be hearing her heartbeat. And I can never get tired of hearing that.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page