top of page

Workout Wednesday - 2.5.2020

Happy Hump Day, loves! 😘 It's halfway through the week and oh what a long week it has been, right? The Monday after Super Bowl should be declared a national holiday. When I had a job, I'd always take a vacation day or I'd call out if I didn't have any more vacation days to use 😂. As a SAHM, I couldn't really have a day off, because kids and school drop off/pick up... but I took a break from the gym. I just couldn't really get my butt out of bed at 5am when my alarm went off.



So Tuesday was my Day 1 of working out this week. The goal is to hit the gym 4 times. Fingers crossed 🤞 that I'm able to keep myself motivated. The weather has been cold here in SoCal (30s-40s) and leavin' a warm and cozy bed to go workout doesn't sound appealing that early in the morning.


I usually start my weeks off with a good leg workout, focusing on glutes and hamstrings. But I changed it up this week and did upper body with a focus on shoulders.


Here is what I did:


1. Seated Dumbbell Shoulder Press x Face Pulls (Superset)

4 sets x 10 reps



2. Seated Arnold Press x Bent Over Dumbbell Fly (Superset)

4 sets x 8 reps



3. Standing Paused Lateral Raise

1 set x 30 reps




4. Single Arm Shoulder Press

4 sets x 10 reps


5. Rear Delt Cable Fly

4 sets x 10 reps



6. Seated Front Raise

4 sets x 10 reps


Also, a lot of these workouts can be done at home, too! With just using dumbbells and resistance bands. If you're wanting to try these workouts at the gym, don't be intimidated to use weights. Trust me, I know what it feels like to go into the free-weights section and not feel confident in what I'm doing. Or feel like I'm being judged by all the gym goers. Just remember, the others around you had to start somewhere, too, you know? And don't feel embarrassed about the weights you're lifting. If you have to start out with 5 lb. dumbbells, it's OK! You WILL feel the burn! 😉


I hope you enjoy these workout posts!

Let me know in the comments if you plan to try this workout!

Or if you already have, please let me know how you like (or did not like) it!



Disclosure: I am not a certified trainer so please practice safety awareness while working out with weights and/or equipment especially if you are not familiar with 'em. And always listen to your body! Know your limits, stop or adjust when necessary.


*All the workout images in this post belong to Katy Hearn and are screenshots from her fitness app that I have a subscription with. I am not sponsored or endorsed by her brand and all opinions in regard to her products are my own.


 
2 comments

2 Comments


Ashley Valdes
Ashley Valdes
Feb 12, 2020

These are great!! I love that you explain how to use them too because I always get so intimidated by the machines haha

Like

sewthisislife.blog
sewthisislife.blog
Feb 12, 2020

Like this one, I’m definitely going to try this one. I suck at upper body routines and usually have to force Chris to come with me so he can train me with this. Next time he can’t be there I’ll incorporate this one so I won’t hit my sore legs all over again lol.

Like
bottom of page