top of page

Why We LOVE Halloween

Oh my gosh it's been SUCH a crazy busy week! I cannot believe how fast October flew by. Halloween came and went and now it's November. And I don't know about you, but even though I love a good Thanksgiving dinner with all the turkey, stuffing and pies, I'm actually kinda already looking forward to Christmas.


Before my posts start shifting into all things Christmas, I wanted to just recap the end of our October and all the fun stuff we did since my last post. I didn't think we'd have time to visit any more pumpkin patches before the month ended, but we managed to squeeze in a last minute family adventure at Live Oak Canyon Pumpkin Patch in Yucaipa, CA this past Saturday. It's a huge family affair that we do every year (with the exception of last year because I just didn't have the energy to go - Everly was a newborn at the time). We always have a great time and I'm just so glad we were able to continue with this tradition.


This pumpkin house may or may not be the main reason why I really wanted to go this year...


AND because I wanted to make sure I got to take the obligatory "cutest pumpkin in the patch" picture...


But seriously.... other than taking pics for the gram (and the blog), we were there for the memories and the rides.



On Monday we went over to my brother-in-law's house so my girls could carve pumpkins with my nieces.


My nieces London and Paris were all about gutting the pumpkins and playing with the seeds. Ella and Everly, on the other hand, were all about running around chasing the dog. And then maybe 15 minutes into it, London and Paris abandoned their pumpkins for the parentals to do all the carving.


We've carved pumpkins every year for the last 5 years or so and I noticed our designs have been getting more and more "simple"... because it's so time consuming and sometimes too dang hard. I think maybe next year, we'll just paint pumpkins instead. Or at least until our girls are older and can carve the pumpkins themselves.


And then came Halloween. The holiday we love so much... because we get to dress up, eat candy, and scare the bajeezus out of the kiddies. And adults, too.


Ella wanted to be a pink cat. And she wanted Baby to be a black cat. And because my child is the boss around here... we had no choice but to be Daddy Cat + Mommy Cat.



My brother-in-law always hosts a Haunted House at his house and family + friends show up to join in on the fun. But because Halloween was on a weekday and not the weekend, only a few showed up this year.



After we took the kids trick-or-treating around the block, we came back and changed into something a little bit more scary... well, Daddy Cat did. Mommy Cat had to keep Princess Cat and Baby Cat company because they just weren't interested in taking part in it. So we sat on the sidelines and watched all the Halloween fun happen.


Halloween is something we look forward to every year. Because it's not just a day where we get to dress up as whatever we want. Or that we get to indulge in our favorite candies - chocolates for me. We look forward to October and Halloween because it's the kickoff to a season of family bonding + adventures. Life can get so busy all year round for everyone, and the holidays kinda helps make quality time more of a priority... even though we should be making it a priority always.


Tell me what you love (or don't love) about Halloween and the Fall/Holiday season? I'd love to hear from you!


3 comments

3 comentários


sewthisislife.blog
sewthisislife.blog
09 de nov. de 2018

Really enjoyed this post especially all those wonderful pictures! I think it’s so cool, that you and your family have so many traditions for this day and it’s so great that you can pass them down to your daughters. I love that you make it a priority to share those moments as a family.

Xoxo

Your fellow superwoman!

Curtir

Dris Wallace
Dris Wallace
05 de nov. de 2018

Love all these pics!!!

Curtir

shayla_norton
05 de nov. de 2018

I love those Halloween houses! We don’t have those in Jersey! & also your cat costumes are adorable!

Curtir
bottom of page