top of page

Valentine's Day Gifts For The Babes

Updated: Jan 27, 2020



Yes... I am totally that mom that uses every single fun holiday to celebrate with the kiddos. And I'm not ashamed to admit it!


Before kids, I was never a fan of Valentine's Day because:

a) I think stuffed animals take up too much space in the house

b) I don't like to wait too long for my food when we go out to dinner (I think we waited at a restaurant for over 2 hours once AND we had a reservation)

c) I didn't need a holiday to celebrate love when duh, love is supposed to be celebrated everyday. Yes, I was one of those people.


But now, I look forward to it because it gives me another reason to shower my babies with love and presents. Call me a hypocrite, I don't care. I'm totally owning up to it.


So this year, I decided to make them gift baskets. Got the idea from a fellow mom blogger Brittany of itsyourgirlbrittanny.com who wrote a post about giving a V-Day gift basket to your significant other. I think it's the perfect gift idea for the babes, too! And you don't have to break the bank to make them either!




Everything in these baskets were $5 or less. And they are all things that Ella and Everly will love (and maybe even fight over) once they see it.


Each basket includes:






1. A coloring book ($1.88 each) - I got Minnie Mouse for Ella and Paw Patrol for Everly. Because let's face it, Ella will most likely claim it anyway since Everly is barely learning to hold up a pen/crayon, so I got ones that Ella would like.












2. Brand new crayons ($2-3/each).














3. Stickers ($1 for a whole lot of messy goodness) - I might regret buying these later, but they love the stuff and it keeps them busy for bit so hey, I'll take it!










4. Fuzzy eared headbands ($4 each) - because what girl doesn't like hair accessories? Ella's totally into wearing headbands these days and Everly just likes to copy her Big Sis with whatever she does.












5. A new hard board book to add to their ever-growing collection of books ($5 each) - always a great investment.












6. And lastly, a box of chocolates in a Disney Princess themed heart-shaped tin ($5)- the chocolates are more for me but they can have a piece each.








Overall, I spent less than $16 for each basket (including the basket/bucket which was $1). Not bad, right? I can't wait to see their faces light up when they see these!


So, tell me.... are you a V-Day person? How do you like to celebrate the holiday? (Or not celebrate the holiday?) Tell me in the comments below!

 
9 comments

9件のコメント


Wild & Cree
2019年5月17日

These are great ideas. I went super basic this year and it was educational things. And PS...I'm a total V-day person.

いいね!

Jane Peeden
Jane Peeden
2019年2月16日

Sara - i totally agree with you on the crowds! We stopped going out to restaurants after our first VDay together almost 20 years ago because we waited 2 hours to be seated and then they somehow lost our order and they never checked on us for about an hour. Then we finally got our food after getting the manager involved. And the food wasn’t that great. And then! They still had us pay for it even though they lost our order in the first place. So this year we had a gym date instead 😂

いいね!

Sara Curran
Sara Curran
2019年2月16日

I love this idea! My mom would do this growing up and she made Valentine's so special for me! I l love moving away from just candy too. We haven't gone out since we had kids on Valentine's Day because the crowds are so miserable!

いいね!

sewthisislife.blog
sewthisislife.blog
2019年2月05日

Aww this was such a cute idea! I love how you made it about you girls instead of the usual couples holiday celebration. It reminds me so much of my mom. When my sisters (I have 2 sisters) and I were younger she would always bring us gifts on Valentine’s Day. She would always say that we were her Valentine and she would bring us teddy bears and cards with a special note for each of us. I think this truly gives your daughters a whole other perspective of the holiday and kind of establishes an idea that V-day isn’t necessarily about having a boyfriend, admirer, etc. It’s just simply about love and friendship. My husband has never been a…

いいね!

brittannyleebooking
2019年2月02日

Jane, you are the sweetest! And I love this idea; it makes me want to put a little basket together for Athena! I’m totally with you too; I wasn’t never a big fan of really any holiday pre baby, but now I love all of them! Great read!

いいね!
bottom of page