top of page

Valentine's Day Gift Basket Ideas

Valentine's Day is just 2 weeks away and I've been busy gettin' thangs ready for LOVE month over here. I've never been a huge fan of V-Day, but I have to admit... it's a pretty fun holiday to celebrate when you have kids. Especially my girls. Give them all the pink things and they are ALL about it.



If you remember, I started this V-Day basket tradition last year and blogged all about it here. My girls LOVED their baskets so, of course, I just had to do it again this year. But since we just celebrated Christmas and Easter is just a couple of months away, I figured I should go the more minimalistic route and implement the "4 rules of gift giving." To help minimize clutter in the house and so we don't break the bank. Because, I dunno about you... but we're still kinda recuperating from that one 😆.


Here's what's inside their baskets...


1. Something They Want:

My girls love stuffies. Especially small cute ones. And they asked for a lot of them for Christmas but apparently Santa forgot to bring them some. And since they have a few beanie boo stuffies already, I thought I'd get them a couple more to add to their growing collection.




2. Something They Need:

So this one was a tough one. They have everything they need. For now, at least. Ella doesn't need any new school supplies right now. And Everly, well, all she needs is diapers and gold fish crackers 😝. But I don't think she'd appreciate the diapers very much. So then I thought, instead of buying them cheap cheesy baskets, I should get them good quality wire baskets that we could use for storage - maybe for their toys or their books. Or maybe I could just use it for my stuff 😉. And we could also use them again next year, too. Definitely a smart investment overall.



3. Something To Read:

This one was a no-brainer. They love books. It was just a matter of finding books we didn't already own. And books that I wouldn't mind reading over and over again. Because Everly has this thing about reading each book 10x before we move on to the next one. I actually can't wait to read these to them soon.




4. Something to Wear:

While I love shopping for clothes for my girls, I realize they're not exactly thrilled to receive them as gifts. But they love getting accessories. And they love sunglasses. Plus, we're going on vacation in March so they're gonna need them (does this count as something they need too? 🤔). They're gonna look super cute wearing these and I see many IG photo ops in the near future... so that's my story and I'm sticking' to it 😂.



And then I just had to fill the basket with other "little" things they love. Because what's Valentine's Day without some sweets and cute stickers, right?




Also, I'd just like to add that all the V-Day decor/props featured in the photos were pretty inexpensive (all Dollar Tree, Walmart, Target dollar spot finds) and will be used for years to come (until I can't use them no mo).


And there ya go. My idea of a minimalist V-Day gift basket... if there is such a thing. Can't wait for my girls to see all the goodies they got!


How about you? Is V-Day your thing?

Have you done V-Day gift baskets before?

Do you think this is a good/bad idea?

Tell me your thoughts in the comments below!!!


 
3 comments

3 Comments


sewthisislife.blog
sewthisislife.blog
Feb 12, 2020

Omg I LLLOOOVVEEE these baskets!! Really makes me want to try it for Celine. Chris, my husband has never celebrated V-day so I think it would be nice to just make it about my little mini me and I. Reminds me of when I was little my sisters and I were always my mom’s valentines and she would give us cards and teddy bears.

Like

Casey Fritz
Casey Fritz
Jan 31, 2020

I loved this post!! I never been a valentine person but I love this basket idea I might need to steal it 😉

Like

sunshinesinbloom
sunshinesinbloom
Jan 31, 2020

These are all such cute ideas!! I love you to the moon and back is one of my faves!!

Like
bottom of page