top of page

Unplugged From The Internet and I have ZERO Regrets

Hi, guys!!! It's me! 🤣 Yeah, I know. It's been awhile. Been thinkin' a lot about how to make an official comeback to the blog world. But then I remembered that I'm still a nobody in this space, which helped take off some of the pressure. And so HERE I AM!!!! 😂😂😂


2020 turned out to be a shitty year. Let's not even pretend it wasn't because it just didn't turn out to be the. best. year. EVER. Like we all hoped. I did my best to remain as positive as one could be during a worldwide pandemic, but who are we kidding. It just freakin' SUCKED. Especially on the internet. With the Black Lives Matter movement happening in the middle of the year, and the anti-maskers running amok, and then having to deal with everyone turning EVERYTHING into something political... it just got way too toxic for me and I just had to unplug from it all and focus on what was most important to me - my sanity and being present with my family.


So... let's rewind a bit with a recap of how our 2020 went. We started off the year STRONG. Made some goals, went to Hawaii in March, came back just in time for a nationwide lockdown and we quarantined/stayed home pretty much forever. Oh and I became a teacher! Ok, ok... that's a bit of an exaggeration. I didn't become a REAL teacher - and by REAL teacher, I mean one with credentials. I just became Ella's REAL teacher's assistant. Virtually. Because Virtual Learning is now a thing - circa 2020. In August, we had a flood in our house (and if you didn't know, we were living in a rental with my FIL and his 2 teenage daughters) which kinda forced us out of the house while it was turned into a construction zone. We didn't have anywhere to go, so we escaped Southern California and went up to Gardnerville, NV to stay with my MIL for a bit. We had planned to only be there maybe a month at first, but we ended up staying for a little over 5 months. Which turned out to be a blessing in disguise. My girls only saw their grandma and other grandpa maybe 2x a year pre-covid. So this gave them (and us) the time to make memories and to just enjoy living that country life.



We got to experience a true Fall and Winter season complete with all the holiday things and were able to save up enough money to FINALLY buy a house.


Yup, you read that right.



We. Freakin'. Bought. A. HOUSE.


The current state of our housing market in the U.S. is INSANE right now and we didn't think we would be able to snag one since it's SO competitive out there (we bid on a total of 7 houses 😳). But we did! And I will have to write a whole separate post to talk about the entire experience later - because THAT was just a rollercoaster of crazy that deserves a blog entry all its own. The main thing is - we found one and we're extremely grateful our offer was chosen. And so our 5-month stay in Gardnerville, NV came to a bittersweet end in February and we returned back to SoCal to begin the next exciting chapter of our lives.


Life happened. Even during a pandemic. And I am SO glad I took a break from all things social media and the internet to enjoy the simple joys in life. And as crappy as 2020 was, I have so much to be grateful for.


So, as you may have already guessed... we have been super busy with making our new "old" house a home and now that things have slowed down a bit, I thought I'd give my blog some love. Because... I got LOTS to share - more of ALL the mom life things PLUS all the home reno/decor life things. This is going to be FUN!


I hope you'll stick around for all of that!

Until the next one...


xoxo,

Jane

コメント


bottom of page