top of page

It's A Smorgasburg (smorgasbord) in LA!

Updated: Jan 27, 2020



If you are EVER in Southern California and you're lookin' for somethin' fun to do, you NEED to go to Smorgasburg LA! It's an outdoor market for food (and LOTS of it), shopping and drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) that's open only for a few hours on Sundays in downtown LA. We had never been, so when my cousins were in town from Hawaii and wanted us to meet them there, we made that one-hour drive from the Inland Empire to go hang out and enjoy some good food.



First off, I recommend going when the weather is NICE. Like 70 degree NICE. With the sun out and not a cloud in the sky. The day we went, it was super freakin' cold. I believe it was in the 50s with a cold chill in the air. Us Southern Californians aren't used to that kinda cold but we have been getting ridiculous amounts of rain this Winter. Luckily for us, it did not rain that day. But that didn't stop us from dressing up like Eskimos going out into the snow.


Also, plan to go on an empty stomach. This place is not called Smorgasburg for nothin'. There's ALL kinds of different foods from different cultures. The prices aren't too bad and the portion sizes are perfect. I think it's pretty obvious I went there for the food. I had a Musubi from Mama Musubi and then had a craving for some tacos. Found a vendor named Tacos 1986 and ordered a carne asada taco and 2 adobada (pork) tacos. Oh my gosh were they delish! My cousins tried foods from Lobsterdamus, Goa Taco, and got some dessert from Ensaymada Project. Daniel had some vegan sandwich but I can't remember where from. By the way, there were many vegetarian/vegan options too!



And even if you're not much of a foodie, I say just go for the ambiance and experience. There's plenty of outdoor seating, some major people watching opportunities, and if you're an Instagrammer like me, there are a ton of photo opportunities - walls, architecture, you name it!






So who wants to go to Smorgasburg LA? I'm totally planning my next trip out there!


3 comments

3 kommentarer


Wild & Cree
17 maj 2019

I had NO idea this place existed. Wow. This is going on my bucket list for sure. I am always down for a smorgaboard of any kind. ha!

Gilla

sewthisislife.blog
sewthisislife.blog
04 mars 2019

So fun! It looks like it was literally NYC weather down there! I never thought it ever got so cold like that in California. Well, you got a small taste of what we have to deal with down here nearly ALL THE TIME! lol. Great photos, I can tell you all truly had a good time.

Gilla

somekindamama
somekindamama
04 mars 2019

This place looks amazing. I seriously need to go. Like yesterday!!!! Anything with food and I'm in!

Gilla
bottom of page