top of page

Introducing Mi Casa Blanca - Our New "old" Home Sweet Home

Hi 👋 friends!!!


Today I'm FINALLY sharing ALL about our house. It's been a long time comin', I know. We've been busy settling in and it's just been complete chaos at Mi Casa Blanca AKA Casa De Los Peedens AKA My White House 😝. But I'm finally at a stopping point of all things unpacking/organizing/renovating where I have some time to breathe and talk a little bit about our new "old" home 😊.


So, without further ado, meet Mi Casa Blanca!



This lil Spanish Bungalow was built back in the 1930s and needs a lot of work, but isn't she a beauty? Never in a million years did I even think that I'd own a Spanish-style home, but here we are. To be honest, I thought we'd end up buying something more modern and newer (like nothing before 1980) and then decking it out all farmhouse everything. So imagine my surprise when our realtor suggested we take a look at this house and I immediately wanted it. I wouldn't say it was love at first sight. But I saw the potential and I could see it being a great home for us, and in the end, we were able to get this house without having to go through a bidding war like we did with the other 7 houses we looked at.


What We've Done So Far...

We haven't done any huge renovations yet - just a whole lotta deep cleaning both inside and outside of the house. The only BIG project we've done inside is paint every single room. Except the kitchen. Because we eventually plan to completely tear out the kitchen and knock out some walls and all that good stuff so I did not want to waste the time, money or paint. And because of mom life and distance learning, I could only really do 1 room a week. I also hung up curtain rods and curtains.


That's about it.


But oh my gosh does paint do wonders.


I mean, check out some of these before and afters:


Living Room




Dining Room




Bedroom


Fresh new paint just makes the space feel so brand new and we LOVE it.






What Our Plans Are...

We bought a fixer upper. So our list is not short. But I've been told that home projects, big or small, are never-ending. We've only been here for 3 months and I'm already feeling that way.


Here's our list to start:

  • Get new windows (we've already purchased and ordered these. They should be here by the end of May and will be installed in the beginning of June)

  • Paint the exterior of the house

  • Demo and install brand new kitchen (will be done in phases because we plan to DIY this and also because we broke 😂)

  • New flooring throughout the house

  • Switch out the vanity and cabinets in the bathroom and put new floor tiles in

  • New floor tile in the laundry/mud room

  • Build a wall in our front yard, add a gate, put in a new garage door

  • Landscaping/Hardscaping

  • Buy new furniture

  • Decorate (last on the list because all the money is going to all the projects listed above)


Taking it One Day at a Time

So we are still kinda unpacking while simultaneously purging and organizing our lives 😂. That's what we get for having had majority of our stuff in storage for almost 2.5 years while we were living at my father-in-law's. Which means none of the rooms in this house is 100% complete. And probably won't be for awhile. But I will be documenting all the progress of our house projects here and all across my social media accounts. I also started a new IG profile JUST for home stuff. So if all things home + decor is your thing, I invite you to follow along on www.instagram.com/mi.casa.blanca for all the deets on what's happening with the house.


Just a reminder: our life is not a show on HGTV... which means our renovations won't happen overnight.


It'll be a slow and steady process but it'll be so worth it in the end!


And I can't wait to share this journey with all of you 😊.


XO,

Jane





Comments


bottom of page